FICM Question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2009, 03:38 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
FICM Question

I am in need of a new FICM. I know I need to take it to ford to get it flashed. Does it need to be in the truck for this to happen? Or can I just take the FICM in to ford?

Thanks for the help. I have been lurking on here for months there is a wealth of info on here.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-20-2009, 03:46 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: port arthur texas
Posts: 3,280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
our local dealers tell us it has to be in the truck, altho I have heard there is a machine that can do it without the truck. I just have never seen it, or know if the person who told me even knew what he was talking about.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-20-2009, 03:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jefferson, Ga
Posts: 673
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The file needed for the FICM is accessed through the internet or file database but they need a truck for the FICM to be programmed through. They can do it with a vehicle in their shop but they will charge you labor if they will do it at all.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-20-2009, 04:07 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Will it run at all with the FICM. could I limp it to the dealer? Or will it not start at all.

thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-20-2009, 05:38 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jefferson, Ga
Posts: 673
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What's it doin?? Injector codes on all 8 cylinders?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-20-2009, 05:52 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm actually ordering the software to diagnose tonight. I pulled the FICM and plan on resoldering. But if I could pick up a cheap new one then its one less thing to worry about. I plan on replacing all the sensors while im in the motor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-20-2009, 06:03 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,677
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uppie89 View Post
I plan on replacing all the sensors while im in the motor.
Why?

You could just empty your wallet into mine, and I could give you a kick in the junk, and it'd accomplish the same effect.

There are quite a few sensors that are very rare failures on 6.0's, and a lot of the sensors on that motor ain't cheap.

Diagnose the problem, then fix it.

Symptom to System, Component to Cause.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-20-2009, 06:49 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,584
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Angry Hillbilly View Post
Symptom to System, Component to Cause.
YUP. That's what Mother Ford has been preaching to us in ALL our FMT, WBT, and classroom courses from the beginning. God, I miss those times of getting a break from work to attend classes.

Back to the topic at hand, I agree that you are only wasting your money by changing all the sensors needlessly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-20-2009, 07:23 PM
Slacker



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 16,719
Thanks: 13
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Angry Hillbilly View Post
Why?

You could just empty your wallet into mine, and I could give you a kick in the junk, and it'd accomplish the same effect.
LMAO!!! That was the funniest thing I've read in a while...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-20-2009, 07:33 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I know it may be a waist of money in your opionion. But I dont drive the truck all that much when I do I'm in another state with the camper and family in tow. I would rather spend a couple grand and replace them all in my garage now instead of pay some dealership a couple grand to tow it in and replace one. Hears the way I look at it. Its a 05 king ranch dually with 130,000 on her. I paid 16,800 for it. The body is mint the interior is mint. The seats dont even have that dark wear you usually see them get. So if I put a couple thousand in it now to get the common items that go out fixed its worth it to me.

My problems started this summer a couple months after I got it. I had a somewhat hard start issue when cold. Then it got worse untill last month it wouldnt start unless plugged in. Even in 65 degree weather. Now it wont start at all. It would idol real rough and smoke grey smoke untill up to temp. Then it would start fine and run great. From reading all he post i think I'm right with the FICM. But maybe not. I ordered the Auto Enginuity software tonight so I'm sure I'll be posting questions on how to use it in a couple days.

Thanks for all the input and help, But back to the original question. Will a 03 FICM work on a 05?????

thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors