Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

6.0 dies after running - wont start until cool - help!

89K views 20 replies 18 participants last post by  ChrisSki 
#1 ·
OK boys - Put on your thinking caps as I am a rookie at this site and a rookie Diesel owner.

6 Mos. ago my F350 6.0 started acting up. It would start fine in the morning but as soon as it heated up and I turned it off - forgetaboutit!! I had to wait until it cooled down. To make a long story longer I I took it into the dealer and they replaced the High Pressure Oil Pump and TA DA!! Everything was fine...they told me that I was lucky that it was still under warranty as that repair cost about $3000.00! ! !

Now it is happening again....and the truck is out of warranty. If I take it to the dealer I better take the KY Jelly......

Not only is it doing the same thing ...it is now dying in traffic - at stoplights - and it wont start until it's cooled off.

I think this is a high pressure oil problem again. I just finished replacing all the "O" rings on stand pipes, et al, along the wavy rail - 10 in all - and just put it all back toghther. Hard to start but it did and drove it for 15 minutes in 2nd at 3000 RPM to work out any air in the HPO system. As I was turning on the street to go back to shop - it died and would not restart. Ugh!

THIS IS REALLY DISCOURAGING ME - PLEASE HELP!

Thanks,
Michael

See less See more
#2 ·
Check the cam sensor when it gets hot it will not work, when it cools down it will work! its like $40-60 for the sensor and its not hard to change!

#4 ·
Cam sensor is a rarity on the 6.0. Hook to a scan tool and pull IPR and ICP duty cycles when hot. Im betting the IPR is cooked or dirty

#7 ·
BLACK_PSTROKE have you changed out the quick disconect under the turbo housing for the hpop?
No, Not yet. As I understand it this truck is a late build '04 and they changed the design for the better. I hear that it is possible but very rare.
I will keep it in mind.

Today 09:54 AM
2000 7.3 6speed