Auto lock hubs - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree9Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2014, 01:29 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Preston Hollow
Posts: 62
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Auto lock hubs

I have issues with my auto lock hubs working, I have narrowed the problem down to the hubs themselves. They are not holding a vacuum. I have looked at a diagram of the wheel/hub assembly and only see the rear grease seal other than the O ring on the hub. Are these the only two seals that can be compromised and cause a leak. I would like to get them working but not sure if its as simple as just changing those two seals. Any input from the experienced will be great. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-14-2014, 01:21 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Preston Hollow
Posts: 62
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Nobody has anything??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-24-2014, 01:38 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Preston Hollow
Posts: 62
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well based on the sound of crickets from this post i assume that no one really knew anything about the hub seals. So i hit the Ford dealer and started going through diagrams and getting the seals it looked like i needed. I figured I would share what i did and the results.

There are a number of vacuum seals, 6 (each side)from what i count. Ill post some pix and hope they come through.

There is the locking hub seal and the paper gasket and there is(im guessing since i did tear the locking hub apart) a seal around the selection knob. A big O ring just behind the bearing assembly and then a big seal in back to seal the axle from the hub. Also a O ring around the ABS sensor.

My problem was the big seal axle seal, totally roached. The axle seal cost me $60, the big O ring was $8 and the hub rebuild kit was $24. I didn't change the ABS sensor O ring and I didn't tear the locking hub apart. I would have done that had the rest not solved the problem. But changing these 3 seals solved my vacuum leak in the front hubs and the auto lock feature now works.

Hope this helps someone out there.
Attached Thumbnails
Auto lock hubs-img_20140424_144849_287.jpg   Auto lock hubs-img_20140424_144855_665.jpg   Auto lock hubs-img_20140424_144901_748.jpg   Auto lock hubs-img_20140424_145227_532.jpg   Auto lock hubs-img_20140424_150221_616.jpg  

workin350, rowekmr, WBFD47 and 2 others like this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rrancourt For This Useful Post:
Jeff-F350 (05-18-2014), rowekmr (05-22-2014)
  #4  
Old 04-24-2014, 01:41 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Preston Hollow
Posts: 62
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Pictures continued.
Attached Thumbnails
Auto lock hubs-img_20140424_150835_513.jpg   Auto lock hubs-img_20140424_151021_762.jpg   Auto lock hubs-img_20140424_152505_082.jpg   Auto lock hubs-img_20140424_153958_636.jpg   Auto lock hubs-img_20140424_154018_085.jpg  

rowekmr and WBFD47 like this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rrancourt For This Useful Post:
Jeff-F350 (05-18-2014), rowekmr (05-22-2014)
  #5  
Old 04-25-2014, 08:41 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,040
Thanks: 6
Thanked 37 Times in 35 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Thanks for posting how you got it fixed. Now we know for the next time someone has similar symptoms.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-02-2014, 06:50 PM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: SW, N.M.
Posts: 38
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
rrancourt, Howdy;

Thanks for sticking with it to find your cure.
Mine just developed.
Replaced the soft rubber vacuum lines today
and no smile this evening. Thought I'd go to
the pulse valve on the Passenger wheel well next.
Is there a better way to troubleshoot without
a vacuum gauge to find where the leak is?
Again, thanks for the time you've already put in.

hank
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-02-2014, 07:16 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Preston Hollow
Posts: 62
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Unplug the rubber lines from the steer knuckle and plug them off. KOEO put your heater on vent (so you can easily feel the air blowing), fan on high. Turn the 4x4 knob on and if the airflow switches to the defroster then there is a leak. Go back to where it tees off and try an see if you can determine if its one side or the other. My leak stopped as soon as I capped of the lines on both hubs. Its more tedious then it sounds lol.
rowekmr likes this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rrancourt For This Useful Post:
hankaye (05-02-2014), rowekmr (05-22-2014)
  #8  
Old 05-02-2014, 07:37 PM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: SW, N.M.
Posts: 38
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
rrancourt, Howdy;

That's how I realized that mine was a vacuum problem.
Reckon I'll plug off the lines one at a time and see if it's
one side or the other, or elsewhere.
Thanks for the quick reply.

hank
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-02-2014, 08:02 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Preston Hollow
Posts: 62
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No problem. I unplugged one hub and tried it, leak. Plugged that hub back I'm and unplugged the other, leak. Unplugged both and no leak so I knew that both hubs where the problem. Just have to keep working backwards from the hubs.
rowekmr likes this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-17-2014, 10:22 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Raleigh, nc
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
why not just go to manual locking hubs???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors