Truck felt like it was dragging a ship anchor-Seizing Rear Brakes - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2012, 06:12 AM
Craig

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Truck felt like it was dragging a ship anchor-Seizing Rear Brakes

New member relaying stories about my truck. Last year I was plagued with a seemingly intermittent issue that basically felt like the truck was suddenly dragging a HUGE weight. It never started out that way, but any appreciable distant drive (10mi or greater?) the truck frame would shake some and I could feel some force "holding it back". This wasn't my daily driver, so the natural flow of troubleshooting took a while to get through. Additional symptoms were the smell of something VERY HOT when I arrived at my destination and less obvious till I started playing with it (read troubleshooting) was when at a red light, with tranny in drive and no brake applied the truck would NOT creep forward. AHAH! Had to be the brakes. A quick run around the truck and I found the back wheels hotter than I thought they should be. So, bleed brakes about 11.670149 times and deside that isn't it since it was still acting like this. Finally convinced myself I would have to removed the wheels and use my eyes. WOW! Whodathunk that the caliper pistons would have eroded(?) like they did. See pics. The brakes/disk would warm up and then start seizing as things got hotter from use and rubbing while driving. Changed calipers, bled the brakes and THEN I couldn't get the pedal to firm up AT ALL. Mind you, this is SOOOO not my first rodeo. I scratch my head, bleed some more and then step back cause somtin ain't right. Go to the forums in search of higher education. Found it. I followed in the footsteps of others and put the right caliper on the left and left caliper on the right. It is VERY important to get them on the correct side bec