NO 4 LO!!!!!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 01-14-2012, 10:38 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fortville, IN
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
NO 4 LO!!!!!!

I have a 06 f250 fx4. Four wheel high works just fine but it wont go in low. I tried 3 mph with foot on brake, but no luck. Haven't had truck very long and want to know if Axles have to be in auto or lock for low. The light on instrament panal doesnt come on when I switch to 4low, just when I go to 4high. Thanks for any help...
troyford417 is offline  
post #2 of 5 Old 01-14-2012, 11:06 AM
If it aint a CAT itsa DOG

 
dieseldan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Branch, MN
Posts: 4,553
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had a very similar problem with my 2000. I have esof on the dash and auto/lock hubs. I had NO 4LO. First time at the dealer they said it was my shift motor, turns out i had a broken wire in the harness. Not sure how the harness runs in an 06 but mine rubbed through right on the drivers side fender well. There is a plate mounted to the fender where the 2 pieces of the harness connect. The 4 lo wire rubbed on the plate and broke. Might not be your problem, but if not check the shift motor if you have electric shift on the fly (esof).

Diesel Dan

10,000 LAKES CHAPTER MEMBER


2003 F350 Crew cab long box, FX4, 6.0, torqshift, Lariat.
dieseldan2005 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-14-2012, 11:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
ruger#1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 365
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ruger#1
If it is an automatic, You have to put it in neutral to get it to go into 4 wheel low. It also has to be in neutral to take it out of 4 low.


LETTER OF THE YEAR......

Dear Mother-in-Law

Please don't try to tell me how to raise my kids - I'm married to one of yours and believe me there's room for improvement!

Sincerely
Your Son-in-Law
ruger#1 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-14-2012, 11:12 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
ruger#1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 365
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ruger#1
Haven't had truck very long and want to know if Axles have to be in auto or lock for low. The light on instrament panal doesnt come on when I switch to 4low, just when I go to 4high. Thanks for any help...
They can be in both.


LETTER OF THE YEAR......

Dear Mother-in-Law

Please don't try to tell me how to raise my kids - I'm married to one of yours and believe me there's room for improvement!

Sincerely
Your Son-in-Law
ruger#1 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-14-2012, 02:15 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Somewhere Between Good and Bad
Posts: 1,944
Thanks: 10
Thanked 61 Times in 60 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruger#1 View Post
Haven't had truck very long and want to know if Axles have to be in auto or lock for low. The light on instrament panal doesnt come on when I switch to 4low, just when I go to 4high. Thanks for any help...
They can be in both.
The hubs can be in either position - auto or manual, in either of the following modes: 2HI*, 4HI, 4LO. The hubs are designed to work in the Auto mode in all conditions. Note that I intentionally used the word "designed", because they don't always work as intended. That's why Ford included the manual mode. Due to poor maintenance, vacuum leaks, and other issues, the Auto mode doesn't always engage the hubs (or engage both hubs, for that matter).

The 4x4 light on the dash is indicated by the transfer case, not the front axle. If the light illuminates in 4HI, but not 4LO, this means that your truck is not going into 4LO. I would start by checking fuses and then the wires on the back of the 4x4 switch and on the transfer case shift motor. Since 4HI engages, and 4LO doesn't, might be as simple as a bad 4x4 switch (on the dashboard).

* - Driving with the hubs locked in 2HI (assumes hard surfaces and 4x4 not needed) will reduce fuel mileage and increase wear and tear on front end components.

2006 CC SB 4x4 6.0L
KC Stage 1.5
BPD 6 Phase 53v FICM, EGR, HD Oil Cooler, Bypass Oil Filter & Water Pump
ARP Studs w/ OEM Gaskets
DC Power 190a upper; DB Electric 200a lower alternator
295/65/20 Toyo MTs
PMF 3 Link
7,500LB Tuff Trucks Leveling Coils
Icon 2.5 piggyback CDC shocks
Dynatrac Free Spin Kit with Dynaloc Hubs
EDGE CTS Monitor w/ EGT, pressure, and temp sensors
Blue FPR Spring Kit
Twin F450 Auxiliary Springs
Banks Monster Exhaust
Truetrac rear/E locker Front with 4.11s

Last edited by skanj0; 01-14-2012 at 02:18 PM.
skanj0 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome