bad front axel tube seals and hub seal - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 10-29-2011, 07:30 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
bad front axel tube seals and hub seal

I have a 2003 250, both of my tube seals are dangling and so is the passanger side hub seal, I was having trouble with the on the fly 4x4 not engaging so i started looking to find the problem and stumble across alot of issues. I found the vacuum selenoid was cracked and not working also, I know if the selenoid was working properly I would still have issues because the hub seal is bad thus not allowing vacuum to engage the unit. My 1st question is can I reinstall the two axel tube seals, they dont appear to be worn and can I do this without removing the axel? My 2nd question is can I reinstall the hub seal, it appears to be in good shape, and can this be done without removing the hub?
smithca20 is offline  
post #2 of 7 Old 10-29-2011, 08:09 AM
Winning DUHHH


 
Young-SC-Owner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sunrise Beach, MO
Posts: 2,389
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The dust seals that go into the axle are a super common issue, and NOT worth putting any time into. The hubs on the other hand IS an issue, and I recommend ditching the Vac operated hubs, and slapping in a set of WARN manual lockers and never worry about it again!

So to answer your question, No you cant properly reinstall the axle dust seals without removing the tire, caliper, ball joints...etc....And IDK about the VAC hub seals, I ditched all that junk on mine

99.5 F-350 SRW Short Bed, Ex Cab.
6637
Wicked Wheel'd,
Southbend
Autometer - Boost, Pyro
TW 6 Pos Chip
Water/Meth Inj
Diamond Eye 4" TB

7 year Veteran with SBFD
Airframe and Powerplant Mechanic
Head Marine Technician

Dont Tread on Me
Young-SC-Owner is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 11-06-2011, 07:19 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: (518) on the boarder of MA+CT
Posts: 1,023
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to PowerstrokeTech82787
You dont have to remove the ball joints to remove the dust seals. Just pull the 4 nuts that hold the hub to the spindle... Swivel 21mm + 3/8ths impact and its done in 5 minutes. There are updated dust seals they are metal and have a rubber donut on the inside of the metal. Thats the way i do axle joints and dust seals.
PowerstrokeTech82787 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 11-06-2011, 07:22 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: (518) on the boarder of MA+CT
Posts: 1,023
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to PowerstrokeTech82787
PowerstrokeTech82787 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 11-06-2011, 07:36 PM
Winning DUHHH


 
Young-SC-Owner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sunrise Beach, MO
Posts: 2,389
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I stand corrected

99.5 F-350 SRW Short Bed, Ex Cab.
6637
Wicked Wheel'd,
Southbend
Autometer - Boost, Pyro
TW 6 Pos Chip
Water/Meth Inj
Diamond Eye 4" TB

7 year Veteran with SBFD
Airframe and Powerplant Mechanic
Head Marine Technician

Dont Tread on Me
Young-SC-Owner is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 11-15-2011, 04:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
HillbillyDeluxe39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Marcos, Tx
Posts: 287
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
@PowerstrokeTech, are you saying that by installing manual hubs I dont have to buy two $50 vacuum hub seals, and every thing will be ok with out them, meaning no dirt will get into the unit bearing? This would save me $100 bucks, I always lock my hubs and never use the auto function anyway.
HillbillyDeluxe39 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 11-20-2011, 06:58 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: (518) on the boarder of MA+CT
Posts: 1,023
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to PowerstrokeTech82787
No not factory manual lockers anyways, they utilize the same big hub seal as the auto lockers.
PowerstrokeTech82787 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome